1st June: The Beatles, Bjork and reasons to get drunk.

This day in 1967 the Beatles released Sgt Peppers Lonely Heart Club Band album in the US.  It went on to spend 27 weeks at the top of the UK album charts and 15 weeks in the US. Described by Time magazine as “a historic departure in the history of music” it influenced the direction music took from that day forward.

f23ed2891a7f5edb4aa0f9cc8af74126
(This site now has a theme tune. (And it’s not The Beatles. It’s HERE. Click it and read. It adds a majesty to the crap I write.)

If you liked it then that’s a good excuse to drink wine today. If you didn’t like it there’s a very good chance that someone in your musical collection did,  was influenced by it and wouldn’t have gone on to make music without it. This, also, is a good reason to drink wine today. (Confession: I fall into the second category, the Beatles never having pushed my buttons. Mrs Drink Wine Today likes them and has “a thing” for John Lennon. I have “a thing” for Bjork who – somewhere along the line – probably cites the Beatles as influencing her although God knows exactly where. No matter, let’s not get bogged down in the details ….)

“I’ll get by with a little help from my friends” very likely refers to Merlot, Cabernet and Pinot Noir. Pass the corkscrew please.

And a quote: “When I get older losing my hair, many years from now, will you still be sending me a Valentine, birthday greetings, bottle of wine …..”

Instagram_Icon_Small    twitter

Leave a comment