3rd June: Wine is super good for you. Let’s drink.

This day in 1934 Dr Frederick Banting – who co discovered Insulin with Charles Best – was knighted. I’ve no time for the honours system in real life but, if it occasionally gives us all an excuse to get drunk, then I’m not one to argue. So her’s to Dr Banting. It’s well deserved – or as well deserved as anything that “the establishment” hands out can be.

insuline-1532119
(This site now has a theme tune. It’s HERE. Click it and read. It adds a majesty to the crap I write.)

And, as some studies have shown that red wine can help stabilize blood sugar it seems to tie in well as a good excuse to drink wine today to celebrate science(and your own inbuilt invincibility.).  Now I’ve not gone and looked at these studies – I’ve got other stuff to do – so they could be Really Good Science like Dr Banting would have done or they actually may be Really Bad Science like me and you would do after a night drinking Merlot and speculating on the big issues of life with equally drunken friends. All in all though it doesn’t really matter – current thinking seems to be anyone can make their own science up as they go along anyway and bugger the consequences. So, for today at least, we’ll claim we’re drinking “for health reasons.”

And, of course, to remember Dr Banting – who shows us why REAL science is important. Cheers Doc!

A quote:  “I have enjoyed great health at a great age because, every day since I can remember, I have consumed a bottle of wine except when I have not felt well. Then I have consumed two bottles.” A Bishop of Seville.

twitter   Instagram_Icon_Small

Leave a Reply

